Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

Gotham Episode 14 – “The Fearsome Dr. Crane”

Dr. CraneWelcome back! Tonight is the night I have been waiting for, the night that the episode of Gotham that I worked on, finally aired. This was such a fun episode to work on and it was a dream come true so instead of writing a review and a recap, I thought I would just use this space to talk about some of my feelings and thoughts on the episode. I hope that you all enjoyed watching it as much as I enjoyed working on it.

As a life long Batman man, I had to pinch myself when I got the call telling me that I got the job. I know, I know, Batman is not on this show. But who cares. It is set in Gotham and we have all kinds of crazy characters to hang out with every week, including Jim Gordon, one of the best characters in the Batman universe. It was definitely a dream job, even if it was a brief time I spent at the Gotham camp. I never would have guessed as a shy little kid in North Carolina with big dreams but no idea how to achieve them, that I would get to go to work everyday and hear Jim Gordon yell “GCPD, freeze”, all day long and that I would put in the gun shots sounds coming out of his gun. About two weeks in, I had to step away from my computer and regain my composure because, honestly, it’s just unbelievable! Even if the show is not your cup of tea, there is no denying moments like that!

My first day of work, I received a copy of the script and immediately fangirled over the title, “The Fearsome Dr. Crane”. I have always been a fan slash terrified of Scarecrow. I mean, the thought of living in a haze of your own fears…no thank you! Obviously, the first thing I did (after watching all the episodes that had not aired yet) was sit down and read the script. I was disappointed at first to find out that the titular Dr. Crane was not, in fact, Jonathan Crane, but his father. But after I read the whole thing, I felt like they captured the same vibe quite nicely and we definitely get a glimpse of why Jonathan becomes such a maladjusted adult. I am happy that this was the episode that I got.

I have been, at times, a harsher critic of this show than I would like to admit. Yes, it has it’s flaws. But now that I have had the opportunity to meet the writers and editors, amongst others. I appreciated the care and the thought that went into all of these scripts. I have come to appreciate even the less successful moments of the show. Everyone works so hard and puts their blood sweat and tears into this show (and every other show you watch, have watched and will ever watch). Just maybe try and keep that in mind when you tear apart a show. I know I am guilty of it sometimes too but I am trying harder! Not every show is going to be for you and that’s okay. That is why there are approximately a billion channels to choose from these days. Don’t hate on something, just turn the channel!

SIDE NOTES: (Some of my favorite moments)

  • My favorite line of the episode : “I see tears. On your face.” Ed’s delivery of his lines in this episode really made me chuckle. I think he is really starting to shine.
  • Harvey and his flirting skills leave a lot to be desired but to see him with a lady was a wonder to behold!
  • Morena Baccarin brings a whole new level to the show. I think that she brought out a lot in Ben McKenzie and, I don’t know for sure, but I do hope that she sticks around for awhile! Leslie Thompkins is a cool character in the comics and I would like to see more of her.
  • This is not one of my favorite moments but did everyone notice how the Gotham church ladies looked like they were bussed in from the movie The Help and they sounded like they were from somewhere deep south? But Penguin’s grumps face sitting in the back of the bus almost made up for it!
  • I am glad that I did not have to deal with Barbara in this episode.
  • Fish was either going to get kidnapped by that pirate or they were about to get sexy. It was hard to tell from the way they were growling and running at each other. Which do you think it is?

I have actually not seen or read next week’s episode, aside from some footage of a scarecrow but that was only because I heard there was a scarecrow so I ran into the room and said “LET ME SEE THE THING WHERE THERE IS A SCARECROW BECAUSE I LOVE IT” (true-ish story). The episode is, in fact, called “The Scarecrow” so I will be watching that along side all of you once again! Thanks for watching (and reading)!

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

3 comments on “Gotham Episode 14 – “The Fearsome Dr. Crane”

  1. Pingback: | EW Community | EW.com

  2. Joie Fatale
    February 3, 2015

    I figured the church ladies were going to Gotham to plant a church or something *shrugs*
    But Ozzy’s grumpy face, plus the women’s harmony made me SMILE! It was perfect!

  3. Pingback: Episode 23 – The Guy with the Fear | Legends of Gotham

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2015 by in Television and tagged , , , , , .
