Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The #RenewGalavant Initiative

32bcd

Hello, my friends!

I know a lot of you are wondering what the heck is up with Galavant? And even more so, what the heck was up with that ending??

If you’re like some, you might not have realized that–that wasn’t meant to be the end. And yeah. I’m repeating myself. But for good cause.

As I said in my previous post, Galavant was always intended to be a series. This “4 Week Comedy Extravaganza” nonsense confused us all from the get-go. Even I was not certain of what to call the new show, when I first started spreading the word of it’s glorious-ness. It wasn’t until I read a tweet from Karen David, on January 9th, that I had any sort of confirmation.

While the time-slot on Sunday evenings, during Prime-Time, might have seemed like a stellar home for a musical comedy fairy tale, ABC put up the brand new series against big awards shows on other networks. Awards season was not an ideal time to try and kick off a show that would, statistically, already be hindered due to the fact that it’s a musical. According to ratings, Galavant had a pretty good start with it’s premiere… and then dipped in the following weeks, when it was shown during the same time slot as The Golden Globes, the AFC Championship Game, and the Screen Actors Guild Awards.

No television series should have to hold it’s own against big televised events such as those– especially a brand new, musical comedy fairytale! However, I think that Galavant held it’s own and absolutely deserves a round two. And according to this article from Deadline, the season finale episode of Galavant was up in ratings, in addition to having favorable reception from critics. The article also goes on to say that a second season for Galavant is a solid possibility.

But will there be a season two? Dear God, I know I hope so! Because if there isn’t, my heart will be crushed! I truly hope you enjoyed Galavant as much as I did, and if you did– if you want to see a season two as much as I do, please watch it! I’m not one to go banging on Network Executives’ doors, or bombarding them with tweets and emails about how they’re awful if they don’t renew my current favorite thing… but I do believe in supporting what you love. If you loved Galavant, show them. Gently encourage your friends to watch Galavant! Tell your grandma to watch it. Spread the word to your coworkers and classmates. Watch it on demand, watch it on ABC.GO.Com, watch it on Hulu. Buy it on Amazon and iTunes and show those that are watching and paying attention to ratings that this show is something special, and one of a kind (and yes, those are all working links that will take you to ALL THE GALAVANT-Y THINGS).

If Galavant made you smile with it’s amusing musical numbers, check it out on iTunes, and Amazon.com and purchase the soundtrack. The Digital copy is available to download now, and the CD will be available in stores February 17th. If you already have the soundtrack, or if you’ve had a look at it, and your favorite song isn’t there, look for it soon! A few days ago, Glenn Slater tweeted a reply to a fan that stated, ‘We have it on fairly good authority there WILL be a “#Galavant Vol 2” with the other songs.’ So when volume two is released, you can support Galavant that way too! And hopefully get those other songs that you’ve been missing! Show the Network Executives that Galavant has support in viewership– AND FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, DON’T ILLEGALLY DOWNLOAD IT.

As for the latest word on a second season, I’ve got nothin’…. but earlier today, Dan Fogelman tweeted that he’s loving the fan videos and the passion behind all of the #RenewGalavant tweets! And in his words, “Stay passionate: there will be more .” Now, I don’t know about you… but, to me, that sounds a lot like F*CK YEAH, THERE’S GONNA BE A SEASON TWO! Someone should probably tell Timothy Omundson not to shave the #Kingsbeard, just yet.

So before I sail off into the sunset with Galavant and Richard, I leave you with this:

In my effort to support Galavant, a Galavant season two, and the #RenewGalavant initiative, I want to do a giveaway. I saw someone else have this brilliant idea– and I wanted to do my part! If you would like to be entered for a chance to win a digital copy of Galavant (Original Soundtrack), here is what you must do…

1. Comment on this post and tell me what your favorite moment in Galavant was!

2. Follow me on Twitter @Fronkensteen

3. Follow @FancasticTV on Twitter.

4. Tweet to Me, @Fronkensteen, AND @FancasticTV with the hashtag #RenewGalavant, and tell us your favorite song from season 1!tumblr_inline_nhr82uaYxJ1qhhfr5

The deadline for said giveaway will be Friday, February 13th at 11:59PM CENTRAL time. I will randomly draw a name on Saturday, February 14th, and notify the winner via Direct Message on Twitter that they will have a date for Valentine’s Day with the Galavant (Original Soundtrack). The Fine Print: I mean.. if you have another Valentine that you’ll be spending that day with, you know, just share the music. Maybe you can convince them to watch the show with you if they haven’t already.

@Fronkensteen

About ifronkensteen

Zombie Slayer, Theatregoer, Instagrammer, and all around Adventurer with a McGuyver-like craftiness.

16 comments on “The #RenewGalavant Initiative

  1. ichinisa
    January 28, 2015

    heeey, i want to participate, but i live in Mexico, the soundtrack is not available in the Mexican i tunes, can i still participate on this?

    • ifronkensteen
      January 28, 2015

      @ichinisa Let me double check and see what I can do– send me an email — ifronkensteen@gmail.com . 🙂

      • ichinisa
        January 30, 2015

        ooo my favourite moment has got to be the “love is strange” duet, the music is beautiful, to me its a new Disney classic the likes i havent heard since mulan, the lyrics are lovely but funny, the acting is great, its the high peak of my Galabella fangirling and i cant stop repeating the part over and over again.

  2. Joie Fatale
    January 30, 2015

    I want more Galavant, and Agent Carter! I’m with you! (I was going to say: “You have my sword”…but thought it my be too LOTR heehee).
    I hope there’s more…that ending left me with way to much unanswered.

  3. Lassie_Fan
    January 30, 2015

    Lovely thoughts about the show! My favorite moment in Galavant: When King Richard came back from Xanax full if confidence and ready to drop Madalena. Wish Kingsley hadn’t shown up when he did. Bad Brother.

  4. Skip
    January 30, 2015

    Been enjoying reading your thoughts on Galavant, mate.

    Current favorite moment in Season 1 (yeah, I’m saying it that way, deal with it) is kind of random and small, but it’s what’s been rattling around in my brain. (Spoiler, spoiler, spoiler.) Richard telling Gareth “I know you’re not a hugger, but if you were, I’d wrap myself around you like a leather jacket made of love.”

  5. Rebecca M.
    January 30, 2015

    Gah, so many moments, where do you even begin? I’m gonna have to say the training montage from episode 2 and “Goodnight My Friend” are both amazing for different reasons.

    (And I know the soundtrack is on Amazon as well, for the iTunes-intolerant among us. Is that an option for the prize winner as well?)

    • ifronkensteen
      January 30, 2015

      Amazon is aboslutely an option! 🙂
      Ps. Good choices for your favorite moments!

  6. JenniferK
    January 30, 2015

    So many favorite moments… but it might be the singing monks! Or maybe when Gal was being Sid’s squire.

  7. theresa
    January 30, 2015

    So many moments, How do I choose? Love this show so much. Watched it over & over. Songs earwormed, I giggle recalling scenes.

  8. Kevin Twitty
    February 2, 2015

    It will come back! “Hey, Hey, We’re the Monks”…if they have faith, we should all as well!

  9. ChrissySky
    February 2, 2015

    All of Richard’s scenes, too many favorites to name. 🙂

  10. Kyle
    February 5, 2015

    So many great moments—the slow joust, everything with Galavant as Sid’s squire, all of Richard’s cluelessness surrounding his wife & the jester, Chef explaining his lineage and so much more!

  11. Darcy
    February 7, 2015

    THE MONKS. I CAN NOT GET OVER THE MONKS. EVEEEEEEEEEEEEER.

  12. readerlygeek
    February 13, 2015

    My favorite moment was when the maid started plotting everyone’s murders. She and the cook stole the show for me. They were too cute together.

Leave a Reply

