Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

Arrow’s Katie Cassidy dishes on ‘Black Canary’

2015/01/img_6590.jpg

Katie Cassidy was recently quoted in EW regarding her new role as Arrow’s ‘The Canary’:

“I can’t tell you how happy it made me,” Cassidy gushes to EW. “I remember at the end of season 2, they needed to fit Sara’s [Caity Lotz] jacket on me and I started to cry when I put it on. I’ve been waiting for this for so long. I’m so happy and honored. From Day 1, I knew that eventually that’s where they were planning to go with the character, but I didn’t know when and it’s television, anything can happen. Honestly, there’s no words that can even explain lucky, excited, grateful, thrilled I am. For the Black Canary fans, I hope they’re happy with my performance and my take on the character. I hope people are happy.”

Via Entertainment Weekly

What do you think about Laurel taking Sara’s place? Are you ready to see Laurel take on Starling City while Oliver is away?

Personally I have always been a fan of Laurel. I have been wondering for a while now if Katie knew, from day one, that she was eventually going to become The Canary. I loved seeing her fight at the end of last week’s episode, “Left Behind”. It was cool to hear the ultrasonic Canary Cry bombs too. I’m excited to see where Laurel’s character will go this season, although I still really miss Sara!

Tweet me your thoughts! @Lauren_Gallaway.

About laurengallaway

California girl who loves superheroes, sci-fi, and all things nerdy. Assistant editor at Comic Book Resources, co-founder of The Marvel Report.

2 comments on “Arrow’s Katie Cassidy dishes on ‘Black Canary’

  1. Joie Fatale
    January 28, 2015

    I was hoping since I heard the name “Laurel” that she would become Black Canary! I’m excited too, that her character has done a complete 180 from the “emo” Laurel (Pre-Sarah’s real death) to this new “I’m-mad-as-hell-&-I’m-not-going-to-take-it-anymore” Laurel AKA The Black Canary.

    • laurengallaway
      January 28, 2015

      I agree. It makes for a very interesting chatacter arc! In some of the promos it looks like it takes her a while to really learn how to fight well.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2015 by in Arrow, TV and tagged , , , , , .
