Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

And Then This Happened…Week of October 17

This week was so bananas and all over the map that I don’t even know where to begin! Warner Brothers decided to be the creepy over sharing friend that says something and you think “did I really need to know all that?” Televisions shows getting cancelled without a chance to even see the light of day, big comics news, new movie one sheets, Marvel announcements and more fill in the days of what most people call a work week, but what I call “the important stuff”. So there is nothing left to do but to just start with the most bananas movie announcement in the history of all mankind.

Warner_Bros._Pictures_intro

Travel forward in time with me, all the way to the year 2020, where cars can fly and we no longer need roads, where we have robots that get us ready in the morning, conveyor belt style. Warner Brothers went with the “go big” part of the “go big or go home” saying and gave us a slate of movies starting in 2016 and taking us all the way to the magical year in the future, 2020. Can you even think what you will be like in 6 years! The following is the laundry list of Superhero movies and the only bits of information we really know about these movies:

  • Batman Vs. Superman: Dawn Of Justice – directed by Zack Snyder, starring Henry Cavill, Ben Affleck, and Gal Gadot (2016)
  • Suicide Squad – directed by David Ayer (2016)
  • Wonder Woman- starring Gal Gadot (2017)
  • Justice League Part One – directed by Zack Snyder, starring once again, Ben Affleck and Henry Cavill  (2017)
  • The Flash- starring Ezra Miller (2018)
  • Aquaman- starring Jason Momoa (2018)
  • Shazam(2019)
  • Justice League Part Two- directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
  • Cyborg- starring Ray Fisher (2020)
  • Green Lantern(2020)

This list is all over the board and we will just have to wait and see how it all plays out, casting and director-wise. I am a wait until I see it to judge it kind of person but ten years might not be enough time for me to get over the first attempt at a Green Lantern movie.

As if that enormous slate of superhero movies wasn’t enough, Warner Brothers gave me the ultimate gift with the announcement of a trilogy of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, a Harry Potter Spinoff . J.K. Rowling has been working a screenplay for a bit and now it is official. These will be released in 2016, 2018, and 2020.

And if THAT wasn’t enough, Warner Brothers announced three more Lego Movies – Ninjago in 2016, Lego Batman in 2017, and Lego Movie 2 in 2018. Everything certainly is awesome there. I’ll see you all back here in 6 years and we can discuss how these DC movies translated onto film and whether or not the movie version of The Flash was as good as the new TV series (which hopefully is still on in six years).

 

The-Hunger-Games-Mockingjay-Part-One-Poster-HD-Wallpaper-1

November 21 is fast approaching but not fast enough! I am tearing through all of these Mockingjay teasers that Lionsgate is handing out (at a selfishly slow pace) and this one is no exception. Katniss returns to District 12 in this dark and somewhat disturbing teaser. This clip is light on action and heavy on mood, my favorite kind of tease! We are a little more than a month away and this only makes me more excited.

Since we are talking movies, we might as well take a look at the new Jurassic World logo and tagline.

Bz8qhiYCYAEHhDL

Even though this movie is ages away, this is my second mention of it in as many weeks. Someone around here must like dinosaurs… By the way, we should take a moment to be excited about this movie being directed by Colin Trevorrow, who directed one of 2012’s most underrated movies, Safety Not Guaranteed. That movie is streaming on Netflix, so take an hour and a half to watch that in the next 9 months while you are waiting for Jurassic World!

nbc_mission_control_a_limages

NBC announced this week that have canned the single camera comedy, Mission Control, before it even airs. This show was being touted as the “Anchorman in space” show and starred Krysten Ritter as a kick ass woman in the space program in the 1960s. I am a bit bummed because I love space stuff and I like Krysten Ritter and this show has both Phil AND Lem from Better Off Ted but apparently casting issues became the cause of death for this show. Mission Control, I wish we had a chance to get to know each other!

hawkeye15f-1-web

In comics news, it was announced at NYCC that my one of my favorite comic book writers, Jeff Lemire (Sweet Tooth, Green Arrow) will be taking over Marvel’s title, Hawkeye, in March 2015. He will be taking over the book from one of my other favorite writers, Matt Fraction (Sex Criminals). Lemire is coming off a fantastic run of Green Arrow and anyone that watched Episode 2 of Arrow saw one of his creations, Komodo. Lemire has had an exclusive with DC for quite a while so I am super excited to see what he can do with one of the best books on the shelf, Hawkeye. What makes the book so great currently is that Clint is just a guy who happens to be an Avenger (sometimes) so it’s more of a character study and Jeff Lemire is perfect for the job.

avengers_downey_new

I feel like it has been all comics and superhero news this week but we are not done yet! Robert Downey, Jr has signed on to Captain America 3 making the internet rumor mill explode with giant letters that spell out the words “CIVIL WAR”. I was surprised to hear that our beloved RDJ signed on for another turn in the Ironman suit because I felt like his patience was wearing a little thin playing that character so I am quite pleased about this news. I also have a feeling that what they pitched him, story-wise must have seemed very enticing to RDJ which makes me even more excited to find out what Marvel has in store. Cap 3 hits theaters in 2016.

imagescbs-logo

Finally I have some non superhero news! Within days of each other, HBO and CBS announced standalone subscription services for streaming content. I already have an Amazon Prime account, Hulu Plus, and Netflix and I have no doubt that I will add HBOgo to my arsenal as soon as they let me. I have been asking anyone that will listen (but no one that can help me) for an HBOgo option for people without cable. Someone must have heard me! CBS is following suit with a $5.99 on demand service. I will less likely grab this one up but I am glad to know that they are coming around! I think with all my services (aside from Amazon Prime but that one is worth it for the free shipping alone) I still pay way less than what I would with cable and I can watch on my own time! Is this the beginning of the end for actual television? I hope not but these subscription services are providing some of the best television content out there (Orange is the New Black and House of Cards for Netflix and Transparent for Amazon Prime are just a few examples).

That is all for this week. I have to make my plans to see Birdman and start planning my Pop Culture-filled weekend. I’ll be back on Monday for more Gotham fun but say hello in the meantime! StephersRG

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

