Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

Marry Me – Pilot

marry-me

 

Man, I miss Happy Endings. I feel bad for anyone who did not get to watch one of the funniest shows I have seen in recent years. I know you can watch it on DVD or online and all that stuff but you missed out on a weekly dose of high per capita laughs. I don’t want you to make the same mistake again so I am here to yell at you to watch Marry Me, the new comedy from Happy Endings creator, David Caspe.

It was so refreshing to see Marry Me start, not in the normal meet-cute way we get all of our rom-coms spoon fed to us. Rather, this show starts with Annie (Casey Wilson) and Jake (Ken Marino), after six years together coming home from vacation. Annie has a spectacular meltdown because Jake has not proposed and proceeds to attack all friends and family. No one is safe. The whole time she is going insane (hilariously so) Jake is behind her on one knee waiting for her to just turn around so he can give her the ring. All those friend and family I just mentioned are all hiding in the nooks and crannies of Annie’s apartment waiting to jump out and give congratulations. They have heard everything!

The rest of the episode continues with more failed proposals and quick jokes, many of which had me cackling like a crazy person! There is an edginess to David Caspe’s jokes and characters but the leads bring in so much charm and sweetness that you are never put off. We do get a Jake and Annie meet-cute in a flashback. Guess what, it was ADORABLE! By then I am already attached to them as a couple, partly due to the awesome chemistry between the two actors. By the end of the episode, it appears Annie and Jake are engaged so now the show can be about these two crazy people BEING engaged. I have no doubt that craziness will ensue.

The pilot episode does a great job setting the tone of this series. The dialogue is fast and furious and the jokes come just as rapidly. David Caspe is married to Casey Wilson so I feel like he knows exactly what to write. The funniest moment for me was listening to Annie go into a long monologue pausing only to belt out the chorus to “I Will Always Love You”. Casey Wilson commits and sells it. Ken Marino is a name a lot of people don’t know but that everyone should and this show is a chance for him to shine. Although this show does not ease the pain of losing Happy Endings so soon, it has great potential to make me laugh just as hard! Casey Wilson and Ken Marino have a hand in two of my favorite comedies of the last few years (Happy Endings and Burning Love, respectively) and they are people to follow.

Marry Me airs on an already busy Tuesday night at 9pm on NBC. Do yourself a favor, take a break from all the super hero and sci fi shows for 22 minutes and watch this new show. Let me know if you are watching! StephersRG

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

One comment on “Marry Me – Pilot

  1. very good
    دانلود آهنگ جدید http://www.2.fazmusic38.org/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2014 by in Television and tagged , , , , , .
