Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

And Then This Happened – Week of October 10

Holy Seventh Heaven of a week, you guys! So much awesome and some not awesome (R.I.P. Jan Hooks). New York Comic Con is in full swing which leads to some amazing news and announcements and photos. The weather in Los Angeles is finally tolerable. It’s a good week!

Ghostbusters_logo.svg

The most important and exciting news for me, a lifelong Ghostbusters fan, is of course any news involving Ghostbusters and this week we got a doozy! Paul Feig (who had a hand in one of my all-time favorite shows, Freaks and Geeks) and Katie Dippold (who has a hand in one of my current favorite shows Parks and Recreation and who wrote one of the funniest movies in the last few years, The Heat) have signed on to do the as-of-yet Untitled Ghostbusters Reboot. Phew…that was a lot of words I just used but I am terribly excited about all of this. Just to add even more sprinkles on the sundae, Paul has announced via twitter that he will indeed be casting women in the lead roles. I have some good ideas if Paul needs any help! In related sexist news, Ernie Hudson, aka the fourth Ghostbuster, aka the driver of the Ecto-1, has said something to the effect of he doesn’t even think it should be called Ghostbusters if it has women in it but at least they should be sexy. I wish I made that up but unfortunately I did not.

twinpeaks_logo

It seems there is a lot of talk of reboots, redos, do-overs, sequels, and whatever else these days but I am not one of those people that are bothered by that (see above, if in doubt) and sometimes I am downright excited (again, see above). The thought of more Twin Peaks never once even crossed my mind but now that David Lynch and Mark Frost have announced the return of Twin Peaks as a nine episode limited Showtime series, I can’t believe I have not been clamoring for this very thing to happen for the past twenty-five years. It is still unclear who from the original cast will be in attendance for this giant party but I have a feeling that if asked, most would want to be a part of this historical event. Laura Palmer knew what she was talking about when she said “I’ll see you again in 25 years”. David Lynch and Mark Frost will be writing this series, as it should be, and David will direct the episodes. Being on Showtime, I am sure they will have the freedom to be as weird as they want to be. We have to wait until 2016 to find out what craziness is going on over there in Twin Peaks.

As-seen-on-TV-store

There is so much television news (on top of the Twin Peaks news ) this week. TELEVISION RULES!!!! First off, AMC’s The Walking Dead was just renewed for Season Six, just a mere days before the Season Five premiere airs (Sunday at 9pm). Season five hit number one with a bullet in the coveted 18-49 slot so this news comes as no surprise. Season Six should be balls to the wall and I will be watching on Sunday. Next in television news, Arrow is back, baby! And what a doozy that premiere episode was. I am still not okay. Also this week brought us the Pilot episode of The Flash and it was all I wanted and then some. This series could possibly be ALMOST as good as Arrow especially with the casting of Victor Garber (Alias) as the Dr. Stein half of Justice League member Firestorm. Garber joins Robbie Amell, cousin of our beloved Captain Stephen, who will be playing the Ronnie Raymond half of Firestorm. As if all of this was not enough, Amazon Prime went ahead and did the right thing and renewed Transparent for a second season to air sometime in 2015.

hr_Tomorrowland_2

 

New York Comic Con seems to be stealing all the good San Diego Comic Con reveals this year! We have gotten precious little information about the new future masterpiece (hey, I am ambitiously optimistic) from Disney, Tomorrowland, due out May 22, 2015. This morning at the NYCC panel, Disney started giving us some snippets starting with this teaser trailer:

I think this movie looks great. I know it’s hard to tell from what they have given us but still, I am in. A movie directed by Brad Bird and produced by Damon Lindelof? It is not a hard sell for me. George Clooney got married in Venice on Saturday and then spent his honeymoon making his first ever Convention appearance to support this movie. I wish I could have been there to see it but I am sure he was as charming as ever! Since no one I know made it to NYCC, I can only read about the sequence that they showed at the panel. If you want more detail, check out this write up here.

wonderyears

After all this time, it is finally happening! The Wonder Years, my favorite show as a child, and yes, Kevin Arnold was pretty much my first crush, is finally being released on DVD. It took almost as long as Twin Peaks has been off the air to make it’s DVD debut. So why 25 years? Word is, Time-Life spent around a million dollars to license the music. Without the music, the show just isn’t the same and no one should, quite honestly, have tried to release the show without the music. The show made it onto Netflix streaming with a different music and a different version of the opening theme song. While I enjoyed reliving every minute of the show, without the music it’s just not The Wonder Years. This complete series version has the original theme song, Joe Cocker’s “With a Little Help From My Friends” is back in place. From what I have read, Time-Life has been able to license about 96 percent of the music (that is all but 14 songs for those who want to do serious math), most importantly that theme song. I cannot wait to get the complete series in my hands. Admittedly, it is a little pricey to get the whole thing but Time-Life offers payment plans and they are stuffing all 26 DVDs into a locker for safe keeping. The actual release date seems to be nowish, as the Time-Life site is shipping now. If you are interested in ordering this Emmy Award winning gem, check out the options offered here and watch the trailer if you think you can keep yourself from falling in love all over again!

_1392673279

I don’t really have any Jurassic World news but I do have Lego Jurassic World news. They are making Lego Jurassic World sets! That’s the news! We have to wait until May 2015 to get to build these guys but I am super excited to get my hands on some dinosaur sets to put next to my Hobbit House and Harry Potter knight bus.

That’s about it for this week. There is so much more to cover but I have three movies to go to this weekend St. Vincent, Whiplash, and The Judge) so you will have to fend for yourselves the rest of the way! I will leave you with the new Hobbit The Battle of the Five Armies one sheet. See you all next week with more news. Tweet at me here… StephersRG

BzSoW3LCYAA57Gm

 

 

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

