Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

You’re the Worst (but really the best)

18970Guys! We are less than a week away from the start of the new seasons of all our favorite shows, old and new! I personally am chomping at the bit for my beloved Arrow and I have high hopes for The Flash and Gotham. I love all of these comic book-y shows that have been popping up lately and I personally don’t want them to stop. But you know what else I love? A damn fine comedy. I grew up with sitcoms and I have never let them go. They became so much a part of me as a young duckling that I made editing comedy my career goal slash choice slash goal. (I want to edit comedy is what I am saying) Even though I have never let sit coms go completely, it has been harder and harder to find ones that really stand out and are worth sticking up for. While killing time until the Gotham premiere, I discovered and consumed, without chewing, a new comedy that I want to shout about from the rooftops. I watched all 8 available season one episodes of the FX show You’re The Worst basically in two glorious sittings, binge watching at it’s finest. This is a show worth waiting for!

You’re the Worst is the newest take on the old story, the friend with benefits type of story. This story starts with wedding interrupted by a drunk ex-boyfriend, Jimmy (Chris Geere), who was never really supposed to accept his invitation in the first place. The wedding crash is followed rapidly by an ill advised, self destructive one night stand with the bride’s sister’s best friend, Gretchen (Aya Cash). The show takes us through the aftermath and beyond and we see how two equally self destructive people can co exist together and attempt a relationship (and be quite charming about it). No new ground is covered with the show’s premise. However, what sets this show apart from the herd is evident almost immediately. It is extremely funny. But it is not just funny. It is sharp and witty and really smart and it does not falter. You will definitely laugh out loud watching this show but there is more to it than that. The characters are not simply one dimensional characters. They all have depth and, even though the characters are not always doing the thing that is best for them or others around them, you still find yourself cheering for them and hoping that those crazy kids get their act together!

You’re the Worst was created by Stephen Falk, a writer on both Weeds and Orange is the New Black. For all you Orange fans out there, you will understand the joys of feeling emotionally drawn to a character that maybe has not always done the right thing. You will understand the joys of feeling like the character on your TV is actually your friend. Stephen definitely takes a page or two out of the Jenji Kohan playbook. It is not easy to create solid, fully formed characters, especially on a half hour comedy but Stephen has done it to perfection here. I could rave about this show all night but I have Episode 9 waiting for me before tomorrow’s finale.

The season finale of You’re the Worst airs tomorrow, September 18th at 10:30 on FX. Do yourself a favor, watch this show. You can even catch up for the finale if you have nothing else to do tomorrow! You can find some of these episodes on Hulu. They may be a little hard to find if you don’t have cable but, trust me, it will be worth it. Anyone else watching this show? I welcome comments and questions StephersRG

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

One comment on “You’re the Worst (but really the best)

  1. CJ
    October 25, 2014

    I loved You’re The Worst. I’m so glad it got renewed for a second season. Most new comedies are all the same, with just different actors. While this show i felt was different. Jimmy and Gretchen have great chemistry, and while it took me time to get used to both of their friends, they have grown on me and feel the cast is great. I am excited to see how the characters progress in the next season.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2014 by in Reviews, Television and tagged , , , , .
