Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

My Thoughts on ‘Red Band Society’

IMG_0086.JPG
If you watch any shows on Fox you’ve probably seen an ad for a new show called ‘Red Band Society’. ‘Red Band Society’ stars Octavia Spencer and features an ensemble cast of young people who live in a children’s hospital. Many of the kids on this show have cancer, but not all of them. One girl has a heart problem, another young man is in a coma.

I watched the pilot and must say I enjoyed it. I was expecting something really sad to happen, like an injury or a death – and while nothing like that happened in this first episode, I did cry. There came a point, about 20 mins in, where I looked at one of the characters, Leo, and I started to cry. Leo is bald, from the chemo therapy, and while nothing sad was going on in the scene, the gravity of a young man like him possibly dying, really hit me.

Crying aside, the show had some really funny moments. These kids may be in a hospital, but they are still kids – kids who like to race each other, order pizza, and throw parties, even if they get busted. Kids who want to have fun, even if they have to suffer through an illness, or surgery.

Will I watch this show? I’m not sure yet. It’s definitely a watchable show. I feel like if you’re the type of person who really connects with emotional dramas, like ‘Parenthood’ or ‘Chasing Life’ I think you’ll really like this show.

Rating: 8/10

Great cast, touching moments, and a show that oddly enough, doesn’t take itself too seriously, even though it’s about a very serious subject. I hope it does well this season. It’s definitely one to keep an eye on.

‘Red Band Society’ premiers on Fox Wednesday September 17th @ 9pm

About laurengallaway

California girl who loves superheroes, sci-fi, and all things nerdy. Assistant editor at Comic Book Resources, co-founder of The Marvel Report.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
