Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

What Have YOU Been Doing During the Olympics?

I am a fan of the Olympic games. I don’t watch too many sports on television, I don’t really follow sports, but I love the Olympics, always have! Some people call these two weeks “the great television shut down”. Or I call it that, just me? It seems to me that every two years the quality of the Olympic coverage goes down a percentage. Soon I fear we will be watching two talking heads drooling and pointing to a ski slope. But as of now, we have to suffer through merely highlights of events or not even that if America sucks at the sport and stilted, awkward, and sometimes downright mean interviews:

“Why did you fuck up? Did you know that your whole town was watching”

“I did my best.”

“No, you fell and it was super embarrassing.”

Or maybe I am just projecting.

Since I can barely stand to listen to the NBC announcers prattle on about and get seemingly turned on by figure skating falls, I have turned to regular television shows. But during this Olympic run, it is true that there are precious few new episodes of television on forcing people to accept the Olympics as THE happening or to maybe catch up on stuff. No, not reading or crafting, I mean catch up on television shows, ya goofball! Luckily, February has brought back one of my favorites, The Walking Dead and also continued the Season 3 run of what I consider to be one of the finest shows to ever appear on my television, Girls. But two shows a week is not enough for this fiend so I went back into my vault to try and catch up on a few things.

First thing I had to start/finish watching was Newsroom Season 2. I know, I know, but I don’t have HBO so I have to rely on the kindness of strangers to let me have the episodes. If you have not watched this show yet, you should. It is fantastic and there is nothing else like it. I also picked up Suits Season 3. This is a show that I resisted because law shows and myself usually cannot be in the same room together. Nonetheless, I tripped and fell in love with Suits last year. When the first half of season 3 started, I was extremely busy and could not seem to keep up. Now I can mainline the first ten episodes of Season 3 in time for the back half of the season to start up. I also am taking this opportunity to finish The Americans season 1. I loved this show but again, got super busy and had trouble keeping up. Spies, 1980s, Russians, Keri Russell. That is a recipe for fulfillment! I recently discovered that the entire first season was available on Amazon Prime so I am knee deep in it now so I can be ready for the new season starting on February 26th

Although my entire plan may have just been forfeited last night when I “accidentally” pushed play on my third viewing of Orange is the New Black. 

What else should I watch? And send help @StephersRG

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

2 comments on “What Have YOU Been Doing During the Olympics?

  1. Joie Fatale
    February 20, 2014

    I’ve been trying to check out Girls without paying just to see if I like it.
    Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind paying for shows/seasons on things I like. I just…I wish my library stocked more seasons and series of shows!

    I just started Hannibal, and it’s pretty interesting. And I’m re-going through Avatar: The Last Airbender…in order.

    • stephersrg
      February 20, 2014

      Have you watched Legend of Korra, the sequel to Avatar? It is also on Amazon Prime and I love it! Anyway, I think Girls is totally worth it but it’s kind of an oddball show but like I said, I think it’s one of the best shows on television! I agree about not wanting to pay for stuff though. They should let people watch the first episode of anything for free!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2014 by in Pop Culture, Television and tagged , , , , , , .
