Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

SEIZED

About seven years ago, I was fresh out of film school, full of dreams and good intentions. Unfortunately, also about seven years ago was a devastating writers’ strike that drove a good majority of us well intentioned, freshly graduated dreamers out of town, back to mom and dad. Honestly, I came very close to tucking my tail between my legs and following suit. Luckily, two things happened. One, my parents would not have me, out of love, you guys, really. And two, one night a very good friend of mine who knows what makes me laugh and moves me and all that good stuff called me on the phone and said “turn on NBC right now and watch this show”. That show was Psych (Spellingg Bee, episode 2 as it turned out). Instantly, my way of thinking changed. I had a renewed sense of motivation and purpose. It was as if this show was made just for me and since that day, there has been no turning back. I could go into a much longer, long winded explanation of all the reasons this show has changed my life (this blog for one thing would not exist without the show) but really I just want to say welcome home.

As with any long running show, there will be some episodes that do not hold up to the tippy top best episodes. In my opinion, Psych has faltered only a handful of times. With that said, the last season was spotty and inconsistent overall, suffering slightly from episodes being shown out of order as well as a lack of the old comforting goofiness that I fell in love with at first sight. I wanted to absolutely love every episode but overall I was left wishing there was something more. Last night’s episode, S.E.I.Z.E the Day, gave me all I wanted and then some. All of the goofy, the heart, the kindness, the team, and the family came back to me in full force. Things certainly do look different at the SBPD (we need the REAL chief back) but when it comes down to it, this episode proved that Shawn and Gus can still do what they do best, and that is… well, that is up to you. Solve crimes, make jokes, make up life philosophies, help Lassiter, wear the shit out of a button down? You decide! I am so excited to see how the rest of Season 8 plays out and, I for one, expect a very strong finish to a show that has meant so much to me, so much that I can hardly put into words, that I shouldn’t even try to put into words.

SEIZED!

I am always down for chats about Psych and pretty much anything else! @StephersRG

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

One comment on “SEIZED

  1. marie baumgartner
    January 17, 2014

    Completely Agree. Psych is guaranteed to make you smile and laugh out loud.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2014 by in Television and tagged , , , , .
