Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

Once Upon A Time In Wonderland 1.01 “Down the Rabbit Hole”

“Anon, to sudden silence won, in fancy they pursue The dream-child moving through a land of wonders wild and new In friendly chat with bird or beast – and half believe it true… Thus grew the tale of Wonderland: Alice! a childish story take, in memory’s mystic band, Like pilgrim’s wither’d wreathe of flowers, pluck’d in a far off land.”
– Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Once Upon A Time in Wonderland “Down the Rabbit Hole”

Lauren’s recap and thoughts ~

I am a huge Once Upon a Time fangirl, hence my excitement when I heard that ABC was commissioning a Once spinoff based on “Alice in Wonderland.” I have been eagerly anticipating this show, especially since it’s coming from the same writing team as Once Upon a Time.

First, I think the casting is perfect. Sophie Lowe is perfect as Alice. Beautiful, sweet, and fierce. She is able to portray a deep sadness, while still remaining hopeful and childlike. Michael Socha is delightful as the Knave of Hearts. Cheeky, funny, and full of British charm 🙂 I was also very impressed by Emma Rigby, who plays the Red Queen. She’s fiery, but came to the brink of tears while being threatened by Jafar. Lastly, the surprise of the night: NAVEEN ANDREWS! Our beloved Sayid is back as the sorcerer Jafar!

I felt the pace of the episode was good. We got to see a bit of Alice’s teen experiences in Wonderland and how she met the genie Cyrus, with whom she fell in love. We got to see the crossover of three realms: The real world (Storybrooke), Wonderland, and Agrabah. And we discovered the pulse of the story: Alice’s quest to find Cyrus, and Jafar’s quest to find Cyrus’s lamp and last the three wishes!

I could not believe the opening scene with the Knave of Hearts strolling through Storybrooke, almost being hit by Emma’s bug, and talking to Grumpy and Cinderella. This was Storybrooke before the curse was broken, because Grumpy called Cinderella by her cursed name, Ashley. How did the Knave of Hearts get to modern day Storybrooke? Was he in the Enchanted Forest when the curse hit? He would have lost his memory if that were the case, which means he is able to travel through realms… Maybe he stole an enchanted hat from the mad hatter 🙂

I love that this story will be a cross over between “Alice in Wonderland” and “Aladdin.” I can’t wait to see how everything will play out. Will the Knave of Hearts betray Alice? Will the White Rabbit choose a side? Will we get to see any past Wonderland adventures like Alice defeating the Jabberwokey? Stay tuned next week!

Once Upon a Time in Wonderland airs on ABC Thursday nights 8/9pm Central.

Tweet us your thoughts @FancasticFP or Tweet me @Lauren_Gallaway

What did you think of “Once Upon a Time in Wonderland?”

About laurengallaway

California girl who loves superheroes, sci-fi, and all things nerdy. Assistant editor at Comic Book Resources, co-founder of The Marvel Report.

3 comments on “Once Upon A Time In Wonderland 1.01 “Down the Rabbit Hole”

  1. Laurie
    October 11, 2013

    The only thing I’m not sure of is the timing of the Storybrooke sequence. As we know, a lot of SB still called each other by their cursed names after the curse was broken. I thought it might have been the night that the Wraith was summoned. Another clue is that the Knave knew who the Mad Hatter was in SB – I think he would’ve had to know this after the curse was broken. He also knew who the rabbit was. Just some random thoughts! Loved everything about this episode, and, as usual, your blog!

    • laurengallaway
      October 11, 2013

      You may be right! Which would shift my theories about the timeline. I wonder if other oncers have figured it out! I’ll look around today & see if I can find out! Thanks Laurie!!!!!

  2. NONNIE
    October 12, 2013

    Time In Wonderland 1.01 “Down the Rabbit Hole”:

    I just found your blog via GREETINGS from Storybrooke and found it entertaining… I will check back.

    I did see the last half of Wonderland but was not very impressed… ( I have a standing date with my grandson to watch BIG BANG THEORY before he goes to bed… what can I say he loves SHELDON even though he does not understand anything he says.) I will re-watch it on ABC.COM just to see if I was wrong.

    I found the acting over wrought and the plot rather boring, I just could not get into it. ( I had seen the 20 minute preview.) I did like the scenery and even the CGI ( I might be the only one in the INTERNET that does like it.) I am going to watch it a couple of more times since I did not watch OUaT till the first season marathon when I got hooked on it. Now half my family ( girls) watch it religiously and we follow all the pod-casts.

    I am enjoying your blog and will check back.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2013 by in Once Upon a Time in Wonderland and tagged , , .
