Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. or: Stephanie goes off on a tangent once again.

Character development is so very important on Joss Whedon projects.

::Speaks to the camera::

Ok, I will stop now so that everyone can blargh-grumble-moan about this not really being a Joss show, how he is not running the show and only wrote and directed the pilot and then went to go live in a cave somewhere to work on Marvel Phase 2. I know. I am a giant Whedon fan from the beginning of time so I am aware. But as a fan, I have no doubt that he has looked at and touched and licked every script that has come out of that very talented writer’s room. He has left the show in the more than capable hands of Jed and Maurissa, who really impressed me with what they were able to do on Dollhouse. On top of that, the S.H.I.E.L.D. writers include a one Jeffrey Bell, former Angel show runner, along with two former “Lost” writers and two former “Chuck” writers, among others.  I am waiting for baby brother Zach; writer of some fantastic Fringe episodes, to join the party but that is just me being greedy. I still call this a Joss Whedon show just like I called “Lost” a J.J. Abrams show.

::End Scene::

As I was saying…characters are of front and center importance in the Joss Whedon universe. If you do not care about the characters, how can you ever care what happens to them. And he (along with his team) makes you care.  With S.H.I.E.L.D., we have a character that we already love in Coulson. In Episode 3, we learned just how much everyone else in S.H.I.E.L.D.  loves Coulson. Lauren already pointed out the line delivered by Agent May under her breath that he almost died fighting with the Avengers. The delivery of the line and the look on her face really got me. I understood then that we as an audience could not live without him but more importantly, neither could the agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. We are slowly learning Coulson’s backstory and I for one am ready to find out more about him and what the hell goes on in Tahiti! Clark Gregg is so good as Agent Coulson and fits so naturally into the ever-growing Whedon Universe. I could just watch him but luckily we get so much more!

I do have to say, Ward majorly underwhelms me so far. He still has a chance to win me over, however. I don’t give up that easily on Whedon characters! I am waiting for that defining moment when he does just that. Sadly, I have already heard/read him compared to Riley from Buffy as being a bland, witless robot pursed lipped guy (the adjectives are mine but the comparisons to Marc Blucas do, in fact, exist. To be totally honest, I love that guy. I went to college with Marc and he is insanely kind to people but his character is much maligned). The tricky whedon-y words seem a little clunky coming out of his mouth but hopefully he will ease into that roll and I will be sorry I ever said anything.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is definitely like watching a movie every week. Seriously, there was  A LOT going on in this episode. But it is more than just about boom boom shooty shooty pow. We learn more each week about these characters and you definitely want to pay attention when it comes to Whedonverse. His shows only get better with time and the viewer only falls more in love. Now, with the pesky second episode out of the way and the obligatory Nick Fury cameo come and gone, with Episode 3, we can finally settle in and let the master of storytelling take us where he wants. Because, well, they are on a plane so they really could go anywhere, right?! And I’ll take that plane to anywhere with the Whedons.

No, I have not forgotten about Fitz (“it’s like magic! But it’s science”) and Simmons and Agent May and Skye (“It’s like Siri if it worked.”) But tweet me other musings if you wish! Is Agent Coulson a robot? Is Agent May going to go all ninja on us? Those kind of musings… @StephersRG

About stephersrg

I'm a total nerd for all things nerdy! . I would die without the cinema. And I collect things. Nerdy things. Comic book things. And comedy rules all life. I think people should be kind to each other. I am a dreamer.

3 comments on “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. or: Stephanie goes off on a tangent once again.

  1. stephersrg
    October 10, 2013

    Reblogged this on I Am A Cracked Machine.

  2. Pingback: Musings of a Mild Mannered Man | Joss Whedon: 10 Crowning Moments Of Awesome

  3. blessedbrother
    October 12, 2013

    I am really liking this show. I also like how they are foreshadowing what happened to Coulson after the Avengers. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2013 by in Agents of Shield, Television and tagged , , , , .
